The Aran Islands
Situated at the mouth of Galway Bay. Day trips available from Galway coast. Organised tours available on the Islands. Visit the cottage where J.M. Synge, the well-known Anglo-Irish author and playwright stayed and took the theme of The Playboy of the Western World.
Battle of Aughrim Interpretative Centre
Aughrim, Ballinasloe – on the main Galway – Dublin Road.
Relive the bloodiest battle in Irish history fought in a small Connaught village. Move back in time and place to that fateful day in 1691 through an audio-visual show based on the moving account of Captain Walter Dalton who fought at the Battle of Aughrim.
St. Jarlaths Wheel – Tuam
Located beside the Catholic Cathedral in the North Galway town of Tuam.
Tuam is also home to a 13th century parish church ruins and graveyard, located at Teampall Jarlath, High St. Tuam.
Galway Bay offer a range of activities from sailing, fishing, diving and cruises to the Islands of Aran and Inishbofin. Or simply drive along the coast road from Galway to Spiddal and view the splendour of Galway Bay. Later in the day one can experience the famed in song ‘Sun go down on Galway Bay’. Continuing West takes one into the Twelve Bens of Connemara mountain range.
Tropical Butterfly Centre
Carraroe, Connemara, Galway. 2 miles from Rossaveal Harbour on R343. Located in the heart of Connemara, Seawinds Nurseries and Tropical Butterfly Centre offers a unique experience in family entertainment, regardless of weather. Set amid the lush splendour of a tropical enclosure, you can see hundreds of free flying exotic butterflies in their natural environment.
Eyre Square – Galway City
Eyre Square (renamed John F Kennedy Park) ; an open green park where on can relax or view the many attractions, including the Statue of Paraic O’Connaire ; erected in 1935 in memory of the writer who travelled the roads with his horse and cart. Best remembered for M’asal Beag Dubh. Died 1928
Kirwan’s Lane – Galway City
Kirwan’s Lane (off Quay Street) is one of Galway’s last remaining late Mediaeval Lanes and has been recently redeveloped as a residential area. It was here that the Galway MP Richard Martin built a 100-seater theatre for his actress wife in 1783. Among those who acted there was the republican patriot, Wolfe Tone.
Clifden in West Galway
The location of the landing of the first Trans-Atlantic air crossing by Alcock and Brown. A very scenic part of Ireland.
Kinvara – Galway Hooker Boats
Kinvara hosts an annual festival to celebrate those unique sea boats each year. Always a selection of the old style Hooker boats on view. Those boats were used to transport turf in bygone days.
The great semi-fortifed house at Portumna was built before 1618 by Richard Burke or de Burgo, 4th Earl of Clanricarde. There are exhibitions in the castle and Gate House.
Located close to Gort, on the Galway Road, the former home of Lady Gregory, a founder of the Abbey Theatre and friend of William Butler Yeats. The house no longer stands, but the estate is now a national nature reserve. The garden of the house, with its yew walk and autograph tree is preserved. Carved on the autograph tree, among others are the signatures of John Masefield, George Bernard Shaw and Sean O’Casey. Attractions include nature trails, walks, a lake and turlough.
Once the former summer home of W.B. Yeats this restored Norman tower house was purchased by Yeats in 1916. In 1965 the tower was opened to the public. An audio visual presentation and push button audio narratives in the rooms are available in the tower, which is open to the public from Easter to October.
Joyce Country Sheepdogs
Daily demonstrations. You have the opportunity to visit a working hill sheep farm and view for yourself a Collie sheepdogs herding Connemara Blackface sheep. Border Collie sheepdogs and puppies are available to buy on the farm.
Turoe Pet Farm
Located close to Loughrea, in a beautiful rural setting, Turoe Pet Farm provides great attractions for young and old, native and tourist! Excellent facilities are provided catering for individual, family and group needs. The renown Turoe Stone is also closeby.
Located in Kinvara, Dunguaire Castle was built by the O’Hynes in 1520. The clans association with the castle dates back as far as 662AD when their ancestor Guaire, King of Connnacht, ruled his kingdom from an earthwork rath close to the present castle site. Richhad Martyn, Mayor of Galway, acquired the castle in the seventeenth century and it was subsequently purchased by Oliver Saint John Gogarty. During his tenure the castle was the venue for meetings of the literary revivalists, led by W.B Yeats. The bardic tradition which Yeats believed in, is reflected in the Medieval Banquet held every night.
Mill Museum – Tuam
Located in Tuam, this is the last surviving corn mill in the Tuam area. It closed as a working mill in 1964 – its machinery is still in place, however, so visitors can view the old milling process. This mill played a vital part in the life of the local community and a voluntary committee opened it as a museum in 1974. It also serves as a seasonal tourist information office.